Advanced Placement Knitting

May 29, 2009 at 3:10 pm (Uncategorized)

First, an update.  The baby is ready, I am ready, but the womb is a fortress.  I have resigned myself to the fact that next Tuesday’s deadline will be reached.  I suppose it isn’t so bad, waiting a whopping 4 days for the kid.  Gives us this weekend to focus on Jack and such.  We have our last OB appointment before the big day this afternoon.

The Knitting

I finished the first Pembrokeshire Pathways sock in Knitpicks Verdant Heather.  I adore this pattern.  The simplicity and complexity mesh so well.  I love how the ribbing leads into the lac and cable patterns, I love the 4 round repeats are easy to complete in a short car ride or bus ride and in general I just love this pattern.

And, of course, my Jack modeling the sock:

Now as much as I love this pattern, I had to promise Jack I’d make him a pair of socks next.  I’ve been wanting to knit a fraternal pair of toddler socks trying the 2 socks on DPN technique described in a knitty article.  It is a double knitting technique and after all attempts yesterday I consider it advanced placement knitting.

Now I am not one to shy away from a challenge.  In fact, I seek them out when it comes to knitting.  I think it syems from the fact I am no longer a student and need to challenge my mind a bit.  Well, yesterday was a challenge.  I blew through my first 2 attempts with no success.  The third looked to be the charm until about half an inch in and discovered I’d crossed yarn when first joining in the round.  That would have given me socks attached at the cuff.

By this time I realized I understood the technique a bit and decided to try casting on differently.  Instead of doing a cable cast on and alternating colors, I did 2 separate long tail cast ons and alternated as I moved stitches to 3 needles.  Attempt 4 went well until I did the same silly thing and accidentally pulled a needle out.  Now it seems like a rookie mistake, but it was while knitting and the stitches were tight.  Needless to say it took a 5th try.  This time I did the long tail cast ons, put the stitches where they needed to go, checked my joins and found they were not crossed, and managed 2 rows of ribbing before bed.

So there is the beginning of the 2 socks at once on DPNs, stripe one.  I plan to change colors after the ribbing and periodically throughout, but for now I’m just happy to have a start.

And as this could be the last post before baby, wish me luck.  I promise many pictures and stories.  And more knitting tales.

J.

Leave a Reply

